31 Day Challenge for Human Trafficking Awareness

I am re-boosting and re-issuing the 31 Day Challenge!

DUN DUN DUN DUN…. DUN DUN DUN DUN!

What’s the 31 Day Challenge? Well, Trade of Innocents put together a great (and super easy!) list of 31 easy little tasks that you can do that will help aid the fight against Human Trafficking and Modern Slavery. Anyone can do them. You can too! In fact, I challenge you to!

Let’s get started.

Here’s what the full list looks like:

1. Put the Polaris Project hotline number into your phone: 1-888-3737-888

2. Buy some Fair Trade chocolate from Divine Chocolate’s online store http:// www.divinechocolateusa.com/about/default.aspx

3. Like the Trade of Innocents Facebook Page and follow us on Twitter

4. Sign the Halogen TV Petition

5. Sponsor a child with World Vision

6. Tell a friend about human trafficking and the justice-generation.org call to action

7. Find out about your local Love146taskforce http://146taskforce.org/find 

8. Shop at the for ethically produced goods with one of our partner organizations at www.justice-generation.org

9. Take a picture of yourself holding a sign that says “I Am a Hero” and send it to info@tradeofinnocentsmovie.com or post it on our Facebook Page.

10. Host a Fair Trade Fair on campus

11. Check out A21 Campaign’s blog: http://blog.thea21campaign.org/ 

12. Start a human trafficking board on Pinterest.

13. Sign up for the 100 Postcard Challenge http://www.ijm.org/100-postcard-challenge 

14. Take the Slavery Footprint survey: http://slaveryfootprint.org/survey/#where_do_you_live 

15. Watch the video of the song “Fragile” by Ten Shekel Shirt on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SdMTSvOb3hA 

16. Look through the Real Men Gallery: http://www.demiandashton.org/realmen

17. Read the justice-generation blog http://www.justice-generation.com

18.Read about 2012’s TIP Report Heroes (starts on page 46): http://www.state.gov/documents/organization/192587.pdf 

19. Check out the Agape International Missions website http://agapewebsite.org/ 

20. Watch this video about safe houses: http://bit.ly/restorestories 

21.Go to International Justice Mission’s website and send a letter to your senators in Congress to endorse the TVPRA
https://secure3.convio.net/ijm/site/Advocacy?cmd=display&page=UserAction&id=135

22. If you are a man, take the Defenders pledge with Shared Hope International to stand up for curbing the demand of victimized women and children; if you are a woman, encourage a man in your life to become a Defender. https:// www.sharedhope.org/thedefenders/TakeAction/TheDefendersPledge.aspx

23. Buy the To Be Free bracelet from Abolition International and wear it for 31 days http://abolitionintl.myshopify.com/collections/bracelet/products/to-be-free-bracelet

24.Check out the Porn Harms website http://www.pornharms.com/; look at the Action Alerts to see what you can do to help.

25. Find out how the Salvation Army fights human trafficking in the United States http://www.salvationarmyusa.org/usn/

26. Check out Restore International’s blog: http://www.restoreinternational.org/category/blog

27. Watch an Invisible Children video: http://invisiblechildren.com/videos

28. Check out Shoe Revolt and see how they are trying to end human trafficking with shoes: http://www.shoerevolt.com

29. Read a few country narratives from the 2012 TIP Report http://www.state.gov/j/tip/rls/tiprpt/2012/index.htm

30. Do something creative that you enjoy to express your feelings about human trafficking or something you’ve learned through this 31 Days Challenge: write a blog post, poem, story, or song; paint a picture or draw; or think of something else that you love to show your passion for justice through.

31. Donate $20 to one of Trade of Innocent’s action partners (found on the Justice Generation website: http://www.justicegeneration.com

The source of the 31 day challenge can be found here: http://dropsection.com/downloads/challenge.pdf )

Of course, these aren’t meant to be done all at once! I’ll be posting every Thursday on one of the items from the list, telling you how long it takes as well as offering some other suggestions of similar things you can do.

Every little thing you do to fight human trafficking helps. Never doubt that! Together, we can make a difference.

Take the Challenge.

Make a difference.

See you back here on Thursdays!
Stephanie Oplinger

Please follow, share, and like:
error